Community
Young Hunters Specifically for the kids, this is a great place to share experiences and meet other young hunters.

help

Old 07-18-2004, 04:05 PM

Default help

I'm 12 years old and this is my first year hunting. I need some tips and pointers to help me get started.
Old 07-18-2004, 08:26 PM

Default RE: help

First off, what exactely are you planning on hunting?
Old 07-18-2004, 09:25 PM

My dad put me in for a cow elk and I got it. So that is my first hunt this year. I will also be hunting whitetail deer.
Old 07-18-2004, 10:02 PM
Giant Nontypical

fist thin is to practice shooting a lot, scout for sign where your gonna hunt and familiarize youself with the area if possible, and look forward to the hunt. also setting up a list of things you need will be a good idea too.
Old 07-19-2004, 08:46 AM

Thanks. BUt I am still loking for more. That is good advise.
Old 07-19-2004, 12:28 PM

i never hunted moose yet for whitetails this is what i would do. yet i don't know what the land your hunting or what you plan on useing to hunt deer "rifle/bow/shotgun"

hunting thick woods
a good place to start looking for deer are near water sources and food source (i.e-acorns, streams, swamps) once you find the food the deer are eating you then have to figure out how they are getting to it. so a good way to figure this out is to find deer trails that look like they are in use. these will be wider and will have plenty of deer dropings. so after you figured these two things out you will want to figure out where you want your stand. weither it is a fallen tree/stump/or base of a tree these will all work well yet the best way is from a tree stand about 15-20 feet off the ground you don't want to be to close to the trails though i would stay a good 50 yards away unless your hunting with a bow. ANOTHER good place to hunt deer is from the top of a hollor(sp??)

open feilds