Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

please help me

Old 04-02-2004, 08:31 PM

Default please help me

what kind of gun should i get?? i am new at this and this year will be my first year hunting..ive shot guns before but never owned one..what is some advice on buying one?
Old 04-02-2004, 08:50 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: please help me

What kind of hunting do you intend to do. Are you an adult ?
Old 04-02-2004, 08:56 PM

im gonna hunt for deer..and i turn 18 in aug.
Old 04-02-2004, 09:31 PM

Open or wooded areas? Barrel length and caliber are affected by this.

How long will be your longest shot? Keep in mind you don't need to be taking 300 or 400 yard shots unless you are extremely proficient with your rifle.

Where do you live? Size of the animal matters and some states don't allow rifle hunting.

Rocky or hilly areas? Will you do a lot of walking or hiking? Weight is an issue, more for some than others.

What are the caliber restrictions for the area where you live?

Will this rifle be used only for deer or are you going to hunt other species?

Are you recoil sensitive?

We need more to work with than your age and that you are hunting for deer.
Old 04-03-2004, 09:46 AM

mostly wooded areas and i dont think i will be taking 3-400 yard shots

i live in florida but im gonna do most my hunting in gergia

i dont know the caliber restrictions

it will be only used for deer

recoil sensitive?? dont know what that means

sorry if i cant give a lot of info but i am new to this and dont know a whole lot
Old 04-03-2004, 09:51 AM
Dominant Buck

A 12 guage shotgun with slug and shot barrels will allow you to hunt in every state . It will also grant you a wider variety of game to hunt than any other waepon , and a huge selection of ammo to choose from .
Old 04-03-2004, 10:42 AM