Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

A day in the woods

Old 11-30-2003, 01:09 PM

Default A day in the woods

I thought you fellas might enjoy something I wrote several years ago.

The Hunter
By Rem7400

I awake in the early morning hours from a fitfull sleep. After many years I still get as excited as if this is my first time going hunting. I leave the warmth and comfort of my bed to my wife as I silently put on the clothes laid out the night before. A few cups of coffee and a check of the gear in the back of the truck and I' m on my way.
The road is dark, I' m alone in my thoughts about what the day will bring. No need to hurry now, it' s time to slow down, to leave behind all my worries. The sound of the tires on the pavement changes as I turn onto the dirt road, I' m close now, the anticipation builds. There it is, the parking spot. I ease the truck to the side of the road and turn off the lights.
I gather my gear, rifle in one hand, flashlight in the other I head off down the trail. It is cold, silent, no noise except for the sound of my boots on the hard ground, deeper into the forest I go. I' ve been here before and when I come to the log across the trail I know I' m close to my destination. A few minutes later and my flashlight finds the tree where my stand is. Swiftly, silently from many years of practice I climb up into my stand, into the air 20 feet from the ground.