Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Help hunting Whitetails

Old 12-23-2007, 05:51 PM
Typical Buck

Default Help hunting Whitetails

OK, I've been hunting deer for almost 25 years. I have probably killed 30 mule deer. Even a few 10 pointers. I shot most of those withe a rifle or pistol using spot and stock methods, no camo in Montana. Shots varied from 30 yards to 300 yards with most about 100 yards away.

Now, I have been hunting in Ohio for 11 years. Because of work, I have only hunted about 2 - 3 days aseason for 5 seasons. I have triedcrossbow and pistol. It really is not a weapon problem. I just haven't seen deer. I have used camo every hunt, a treestand for 2 seasons, scent killer for all seasons, scent lures about 5 days of hunting, hunted private and public land. . .I have seen3 deer within 100 yards. That is it! I plan to hunt a day or 2 over the Christmas break here. It is after the rut and I will be hunting with my crossbow in a treestand. I will of course bein my stand, scanning the woodsfor deer with my Bushnell Discoverer 7 x 50 binos. Myouterwear will be washed in scent free soap. I will use scent free deoderant.

Should I use scent lures?

Any tips or tricks to help me at least see deer? Gee sorry to beg, but now I'm resorting to begging and praying while in the stand!
Old 12-23-2007, 05:54 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Help hunting Whitetails

dont look for a whole deer in the woods
look for movement, and from there decide if its a deer or not
also look for white, there is plenty of white on a deer, and its easy to spot if your looking
oh and dont sleep

good luck
and merry christmas
Old 12-23-2007, 06:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

Use some skills.
Old 12-23-2007, 06:32 PM
Nontypical Buck