Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Something worth reading about the "latest" deer disease

Old 10-01-2007, 07:45 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default Something worth reading about the "latest" deer disease

[hr]

Welcome to the Southern Illinoisan Outdoors section webpage! This weekly feature is a supplement to the Outdoors section of our paper, and is updated every Friday.

Comment on this story | Read comments

We should keep an eye on deer-killing disease

I received an e-mail a few weeks ago tipping me off that farmers and hunters throughout Southern Illinois were finding dead deer in the woods.

Before I had a chance to explore the tip, stories came out of Springfield indicating Illinois deer were dying as a result of epizootic hemorrhagic disease — a gnat-borne virus that causes high fever and severe internal bleeding.

Not being a biologist, I certainly don’t know what the root cause of the disease is.

Anecdotally, I can’t help but think this may be an example of natural selection at work.

The density of deer throughout Illinois, particularly parts of Southern Illinois, is incredible. In my roughly 40-mile drive from Carbondale to Harrisburg it’s not unusual for me to see 100 deer or more.

Driving through residential areas of Carbondale and Harrisburg, I’ve seen deer grazing densely populated areas. I’ve had biologists tell me that deer herds in some regions of Southern Illinois are approaching carrying capacity.

Deer populations have reached levels where city slickers consider them more of a nuisance than cute. At Southern Illinois University — where several deer attacks have occurred over the past few years — deer are considered a hazard among some segments of the student population.