Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Need some advice

Old 10-17-2005, 07:01 AM
Spike

Default Need some advice

This will be a long post, but I would like others objective opinion. I have been hunting a farm for 10 years. It is an elderly friend of the family. Located in Todd County, KY it is approx 1,000 acres with 800 acres in productive crops, 120 acres of grass fields that typically hold runoff and maybe 80 acres of small wood lots. There is a 400-acre area that receives no hunting pressure. It holds deer, but we have never hunted it. We have taken some true trophies off the farm over the years. Until this time last year, three of us had permission to hunt it and we always had a spot or two for a fourth guest. Our stands have been in place for years and we all have a sense of ownership. Well, a friend of the granddaughter has now obtained permission to hunt. With the additional person, we have asked everyone to stay in a zone on the farm. I asked that he limit his hunting to a 200-acre field that I had hunted and offered the 400-acre area. The remaining area had more woods, but would be shared with the remaining three hunters. We would hunt our area and he could hunt his. We would not crowd him and would appreciate the same. He is a new hunter and likes to stalk deer with a bow from up wind, cannot sit still, etc.