Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to hunting-Rifle question

Old 09-25-2002, 10:01 PM

Default New to hunting-Rifle question

I am getting into hunting, seriously, for the first time in my life, and as a college student I don't have very much money. I was wondering if anyone knew where I could get a decent rifle for as little as possible. I was also wondering what preferences ya'll have as far as rifles. This gun will just be until Christmas when I can get something else, but I need something until then. I would really appreciate any insight an experienced hunter could give me. Thanks in advance.
Old 09-25-2002, 10:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to hunting-Rifle question

I'll start this off,heck go to Walmart and get you a 30-30 if your hunting is less than 100 yards.Asking us what rifle we like is like asking what kind of wife we prefer.You're going to get a lot of different opinions.

Hunting is not a sport,it's a lifestyle.
Old 09-25-2002, 10:23 PM

You can pick up a 30-30 at most Wally Worlds for around $265-275. Which is a great deer gun within its limits. If your looking for a little some thing more, Look into a Remington 700adl, they come in 30-06, 308 and 270. They cost a little under $380 I belive. If you already have a 12 or 20 gauge shotgun, you can also use that as a deer gun if you don't have the cash for a new rifle.

Guns cause crime, like flies cause garbage.
Old 09-25-2002, 10:27 PM

Thanks for the replies so far. When I was younger I hunted with a 30-30, but where I will be hunting now it is not really practical. Thanks for your replies, and look forward to hearing more.
Old 09-25-2002, 10:46 PM

Goto all the pawn shops and gun shows in your area. You can, if your luckly you can pick up an old 308 or 30-06 ect for cheap. Ive seen 30-06 for as little a $125