Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Waterfowling in Virginia

Old 12-01-2005, 08:57 PM

Default Waterfowling in Virginia

I am fairly new to hunting and have never been duck hunting before and was hoping to go this year. I live in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia and was wondering if there were any good public lands other than WMAs that you can duck hunt? Any help would be appriciated. Thanks.
Old 12-01-2005, 09:14 PM

Default RE: Waterfowling in Virginia

its a great sport man you'll love it. you need to talk to RebelDog. he's the only member i know that lives in virginia on here.
Old 12-02-2005, 08:41 AM

Duck Hunting in Virginia is tough to get started in,Get familiar with the blind laws especially east of route 95. I am in the nortern part of the state and you are in the south, competition up here for hunting spots is tough. I have heard that it is not as bad down your way and you should look for a site to build a blind.

All navigtable water is open for hunting, if all the shore lines are taken then consider a floting blind, in the york river and marshes down your way there is some excellent hunting. Don't count out public hunting areas I hunt Quantico Marine base frequently and I have my own blinds. Ducks are always filtering down so there is always fresh ducks thathavn't become acustomed to blinds.

If you are just getting started I would highly recommend going up to Chincoteague and hunting a couple days. You would have to hire a guide at around $120.00 a day but the quality and quantity is unbeleivable If you are interested I can forward you some names of some "GOOD" guides

If you do some homework you will have a blast. you are just minutes away from puddlers, divers, Sea Ducks, Mergansers, Brant and Snow Geese

Let me know if I can help out.
Old 12-03-2005, 04:22 PM
Spike