Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Shotgun Question

Old 01-13-2005, 08:29 AM

Default Shotgun Question

Do you really need camo on your shotgun? I have an all black Remington 870 12 guage. This is going to be my first year of Turkey hunting and was just curious wether ot not I need to concern myself with como on my gun?
Old 01-13-2005, 09:16 AM

Default RE: Shotgun Question

No. A lot of people say that you need camo on your gun. I've been hunting turkeys for 4 years and have takem 6 birds all with a Benelli Super Black Eagle That is black.
Old 01-13-2005, 09:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

I painted my 870 supermag myself with some spray paint. I was nervous at first, but once I started, I took my time and it turned out good. My hunting buddies commented on how good it turned out. Don't need camo gun, but what can it hurt?
Old 01-13-2005, 02:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

I just put a camo stock on my 870 Express, but the truth is you dont need it. The reason I put the stock on is because I want to put on a Limbsaver R3 recoil pad, and I don't believe they make one that will fit the 870 Express wooden stock. Also, I found the Remington camo stock on special at Wally World for $13!
Old 01-13-2005, 02:48 PM

Not if you only show em the skinny end.
Old 01-13-2005, 03:58 PM

No if it has a dull finish... If you think it might have some shinny spots on it then I would camo it with paint or Camo Clad...
Old 01-13-2005, 04:30 PM
Nontypical Buck