Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Need tips on Turkey Calling!!!

Old 03-26-2004, 05:37 PM

Default Need tips on Turkey Calling!!!

I am new to the game of turkey calling. I don't know when to yelp, cluck, or cutt or exactly how to do it.
These are the calls I have: Tell me if they suck!
Primos The Freak w/ Frictionite
Primos Power Crystal
Mystic Bronzed Crystal
Quaker Boy Hurricane Box Call
K/H Lonesome Hen Push Button
Quaker Boy Beginner Mouth call

I just want some help on when, how, and how much to call.

Thanks
Old 03-26-2004, 07:44 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Need tips on Turkey Calling!!!

When in doubt, just yelp some. Not too loud, especially if he's coming. The calls you own are all just fine. They will all call turkeys in.
Don't call too aggressively. Let the bird dictate what he likes. If he's super hot, you can call more.
When in doubt, some soft yelps and a few clucks and a little purring are in order. Or sometimes, just don't call any more at all.
Old 03-26-2004, 08:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

To put it simply -- Master the cluck.

Call as little as you can get away with. I generally cluck ONCE to start. If he gobbles at that, then that's all I give him. If he stops gobbling at the cluck or if I don't get a gobble with it, then I'll yelp - a little and softly. Then a little more and louder. Then LISTEN -- a LOT! If I haven't gotten a response after a couple of series of this, then I'll cut loose with a lot of cuttin' and excited clucks and yelps. If that doesn't get them, then its time to move on. All this generaly takes me about an hour. If I know one is in tha area, then I'll try differen't things to get them in. Keep giving him what he wants to hear.

I know my tecnique is not the only way to do it, but I've called in 3 this week alone, so I must be doing something right.
Old 03-27-2004, 04:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

Calling and Working the Bird