Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Sorry Team 3

Old 03-24-2004, 04:39 PM

Default Sorry Team 3

When you all read this, if you do, please remember that I'm only a second year rookie. I got lucky last year, right place right time. No if's and's or but's about it. But sometimes it's better to be lucky than good. My father got the whole ball rolling, in regards to hunting, with my kids.

That spawned, 1 dog for duck hunting and traing, 2 home built duck boats, hand made decoys. Then came this, "Turkey hunting". Right up my alley, just like back in the army. Something I could sink my teeth into. Something that makes you encapsulate your mind into the mind of the turkey. Think like he thinks. Act like he acts. Now I still don't know much about this endevour but I do know that I love it. For me, I'm at the ringing the hands stage of where to go and how to set up my decoys. Which call to use and how loud. Etc. etc etc. But I love it. Truely.

So here's my story of my hunt so far this year:

I hunt in the extreme southern most tip of Florida. Far below Lake "O". Draw a line across from Nappels to Ft. Lauderdale, and that's aligator alley. My hunting area is/are all public wild life management areas. Beleive it or not, they are heavily used. The worst part is the swamp buggies that come when you don't want or need them.

I've spent the month of Feb. 2004 scouting and now since the opener on March 6th 9 days of hunting. I've seen gators,which we call head lights, spiders that make you feel like a "Nancy Boy" , when they smack you in the face while riding a mountain/turkey bike at 4:00am, and snake that are as big around as my arm and longer than I am tall.

I've walked through knee high and higher water for over 2 miles, after riding a bike for over 1 1/2 miles, just to get a shot or a chance at hearing that sneaky little true bread, southern tip of Florida Osceola.