Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

turkey loads

Old 01-20-2004, 04:41 PM

Default turkey loads

hi. i'm new to turkey hunting. i'm shooting a 12 ga. winchester 140 two and three quarter chamber. what turkey load would be the best?
thanks.
Old 01-20-2004, 07:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: turkey loads

I'm not exactly a pro, but if anybody has better advice or something to add, please chime in. Every gun is different. You'll need to check different loads and if possible, different chokes for your gun. Different extra full turkey chokes will pattern differently in the same gun, as will different shot sizes. Try shot sizes 4, 5, and 6 from different manufacturers and see what patterns best out of your gun out to about 35-40 yards (range may be a little less since you are only shooting 2 3/4" shells). You'll want the most dense pattern you can get.
Old 01-20-2004, 09:06 PM

eh mountainman i took my first...and only tom so far (im 18 years old, been turkey huntin 2 yrs) with a single shot 12g full choke. i bought federals, remington, winchester and some other brand i forget the name tho. my gun loves the federal premium turkey 2 3/4" 1 5/8oz. in #6's. they r turkey loads so they r copper plated with buffered shot.

dropped a tom in its tracks stone dead at 29 yards. but wen patterning on paper my dad and grandpa said the pattern was good enough for a bird at 45 yards max, providing its a clear shot.

i dunno how yer gun would like them but just for comparison, my dad tried the same loads from same box of shells in his nova with sum xxx-full choke and mine patterned better. he tried again with noraml full choke and it shot almost as good as mine. these loads only like normal full chokes? was it just the one choke my dad had? who knows.