Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

i need predator hunting help

Old 10-08-2003, 10:05 AM

Default i need predator hunting help

A woman who allows me to turkey hunt on her land, recently had her dog attacked by some type of predator according to the vet. I know for a fact that there are foxes and coyotes on her property. She asked me to start hunting them and kill all i could. I have no experience and no idea how to hunt them. I figured i would take a 12 gauge with buckshot and my .243 with me to the woods. Is that acceptable? What type of calls should i buy or decoys?Camoflauge?Scent control? I need help. I would like to do this cheaply but effectively without having to buy an electronic call system. Please give me some feedback guys thanks. I live outside of Boone, NC in the mountains, if terrain is a factor. Thanks ya' ll.
Old 10-08-2003, 12:09 PM

Default RE: i need predator hunting help

Use a mouth call such as a rabbit in distress call. Ive had pretty good luck with those.
Old 10-08-2003, 01:33 PM

drift rider mike- since i turkey hunt on the property and coyotes eat turkeys i think my post belongs on this board. And since you are not a moderator mind your own business if you don' t like what i have written. No one is making you read it. So driftride somewhere else.[8D]
Old 10-08-2003, 01:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

One great thing about boards like this is that I don' t have to mind my own business. My comments were simply said to remind you that you are violating board rules by spamming. If you have a question regarding a certain topic, then it is appropriate to place it in the most relevant forum. Since you' re question most regards calling and hunting COYOTE, then it should have been posted in the Predator forum only. The fact that coyote happen to eat turkey or deer is irrelevant to the act of hunting the coyote themselves.