Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Beginner Friction call

Old 01-30-2002, 09:21 AM

Default Beginner Friction call

I am new to turkey hunting and am looking to get a friction call. With all of the different surfaces (glass, titanium, slate, etc) I don't really know which would be best to start off with. Any tips or pointers would be appreciated.
Old 01-30-2002, 10:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Beginner Friction call

The first thing i would do is rent some videos on learning how to use friction calls and pick your self up a friction call from walmart or some other sporting good store and start to practic and as you get better and more confident you might pick a better friction call later on.
Old 01-30-2002, 10:19 AM

friction calls are easy to catch on to tru a fool proof box call or a cheap slate like Mr. longbeard said when you master it get a good call
Old 01-30-2002, 11:37 AM

The Sla-Tek Ol' Yeller by Knight and Hale is a great beginner slate call. It is very versatile and does not need any fine tuning.

I agree with the other guys that once you start playing a while then worry about switching to a more custom call.

Safe and Happy Hunting!
My Hunting Page
Old 01-30-2002, 03:34 PM

I think different guys. go ahead and get a good one. then you've not had to buy somthing that you won't use. I bought a cheep one at first. it didn't act like the good ones do. I stomped on it in a fit of rage. I'm gona use the pieces to make one out of a turtle shell !!
I now use the glass one primoes makes , titanium 2000 ? and a alumium(sp) one. That ole yeller is a good one, alot of ppl use it.