Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

1st Time Turkey Hunting - SE Colorado

Old 05-11-2012, 01:32 PM
Spike

Default 1st Time Turkey Hunting - SE Colorado

Hi. I'm new to hunting and this 2012 Spring Turkey Season is my first season ever. I've been out every weekend looking for turkeys in places that people tell me the turkeys are but I've been unsuccessfull in finding a single bird. I did come across two turkeys climbing a hill but they got away. Does anyone that lives in the Colorado Springs - Woodland Park - Pueble area have any advice that they can give me to find these things. The season is almost over and I'm thinking that I may just have to sign off on the fact that I may have to wait for the fall to try again.

I've set up where I've been told that they are, but using decoys and calls I get no responses from anything. I'm out there at 5am which may be a little late now that I look back....and I sit and I sit and I call every 5 minutes or so but again, nothing. I've also tried driving the trails calling every so often from the car but I get no responses that way either. I have a really loud gobbler call that I used to find the two that were walking the hill, and they responded right away with that so I thought using that out of a car window would work as well. I think everyone in Colorado has seen turkeys but me...any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?

I'm trying Ft. Carson this weekend since I've been told that there are birds there. I went through all the red tape to get my pass so hopefully it's worth it.
Old 05-11-2012, 05:10 PM
Fork Horn