Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Help, new gun and pattern problems

Old 03-13-2010, 10:56 AM
Typical Buck

Default Help, new gun and pattern problems

I got a new turkey gun from my wife and began sighting it in today. Had problems getting a satisfactory pattern though I am new at this. Your help is appreciated.

Gun, Remington 870 express turkey model, 3 inch with factory extra full turkey choke (reportedly .687) and TruGlo Red dot scope. All shots noted below were with 3 inch shells.

It is my understanding that i should be looking for appx 100 pellets in a 10 inch pie at 40 yrds, true? 13 in kill zone if using a turkey target.

I shot at 40 yrds but the pattern was so bad I moved in to 30 yrds.

Winchester Supreme 3 inch, 2 oz, Mag, double X turkey #6 produced 82 holes in a 9 inch paper plate at 30 yrds. Same shell in #4 shot put 72 holes at 30 yrds with 28 and 18 holes in turkey pattern kill zone.

Remington Premier #6 and Federal #4 turkey loads put 75 and 50 holes in the 9 inch paper plate at 30 yrds, both unsatisfactory.

Reminton Nitro #6, 1 7/8 oz, 3 inch put 75 pellets in 9 inch plate.

Then...I borrowed a shell from a friend. It was 7-10 yrs old and was a Winchester Supreme 3 inch #6, 2 oz double x turkey (same as the first one above except this is old ammo and the one above was bought yesterday). This old shells put 126 and 133 holes in the 9 inch plate and I thought these results were great. Pellet disbursement was even and well scattered. The problem is, I can't go to the store and buy these same shells. I can, but as noted, they are not shooting the same as the old ones. Overall, these shells (I don't have any more) by far seemed to shoot best in my gun.