Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Snakes!

Old 03-14-2009, 02:46 PM
Spike

Default Snakes!

I'm new to turkey hunting and was wondering if it's worth buying snake protection (such as boots, chaps, etc...). I know the chances of getting bit are slim, but so is my cache of good luck these days. What do others think?
Old 03-14-2009, 04:54 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Snakes!

Depends on where you live. I live in So. Fla. but do "most" of my hunting in So. Ga. I wear em but when I hunt north of the Mason Dixon line I don't.

Dan
Old 03-14-2009, 04:57 PM
Typical Buck

Exactly...I am in the Hoosier state and don't wear them. We do have some copperheads and rattlers, but not very many. If you are in a location that has snakes, then I'd consider them, but that is up to you. It would kind of be like not having a smoke detector at home...you can do it, but is it really the best idea?
Old 03-14-2009, 05:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

i live in wisconsin andi never use them but when i go hunting in south dakota and wyoming i also wear them because i've run into some rattlers while hunting. it just depends on where you live and how many snakes you have
Old 03-14-2009, 06:26 PM
Fork Horn

I live in Iowa and hunt several states each spring and wear my snake boots on everyone of the hunts no matter what state I'm in. They are just very comfortable to wear and give my lower legs support when hunting rough and uneven terrain. Buy a pair and wear them on every hunt , its worth it just knowing you have the protection from snakes and twist and sprangs.
Good Luck this spring.
Old 03-14-2009, 06:33 PM
Giant Nontypical

how many hunters really see snakes while hunting? out west on a elk hunt I saw 1.

Keep your eyes open. Though I guess snake boots and a snake slayer pistol is rarely a bad idea...

Old 03-14-2009, 09:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: salukipv1