Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

When, What and Why?

Old 02-05-2009, 02:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default When, What and Why?

Alright, I'm new to turkey hunting and I was wondering when to use certain calls (ex. cluck, yelp, purr) and what kind (ex. Diaphragm, Box, Slate) and why. I guess what I'm trying to say is in certain situations like a turkey coming in what should I do? I don't want to get a turkey coming in and then screw it up with doing the wrong call sequence or using the wrong call.

Thanks for any help!

[align=left] [/align]
Old 02-05-2009, 04:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: When, What and Why?

ORIGINAL: Huntinman23

Alright, I'm new to turkey hunting and I was wondering when to use certain calls (ex. cluck, yelp, purr) and what kind (ex. Diaphragm, Box, Slate) and why. I guess what I'm trying to say is in certain situations like a turkey coming in what should I do? I don't want to get a turkey coming in and then screw it up with doing the wrong call sequence or using the wrong call.

Thanks for any help!
[align=left][/align]
The first thing you need to firmly plant in your mind is that calling in a turkey is not like reeling in a fish. If you have hooked a fish.. you have keep reeling to get it to come to you. However, you do NOT have to keep calling in order to get a turkey to come to you. Infact, the more you call... the less likely it is you'll even see a turkey.... oh you'll hear them alright... you'll hear them all morning long.... gobbling their heads off... waiting on you to come to them.