Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

How's my turkey gun

Old 03-08-2008, 11:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default How's my turkey gun

I have a Remington 870 Magnum SP Its camoed but not sure of the pattern...

Anyway it has a short barrel maybe 20 inches. It has a turkey tube. But its just reagular shotgun sites.

Anyone hunt with a short barrel like this? Or do you prefer a longer barrel.

When you pattern what distances do you try for? I also have another barrel for my other 870 but it is not camo but it is 28 I believe.

Obviously I'm new to turkey hunting. Been a few times but haven't figured it all out and sure haven't got a bird.
Old 03-08-2008, 11:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How's my turkey gun

Oh yeah.

Any suggested mods for my gun? better sites etc..
Old 03-08-2008, 12:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

For turkeys you are gonna want the shorter barrel. 20 inches is about perfect. I'd say you got the gun you are gonna want the only thing you might want to consider would be some truglo sights. They make some that clip right on the vent rib. Otherwise you are good to go.
Old 03-08-2008, 01:00 PM
Typical Buck

personally, i prefer a longer barrel, such asa 26 or a 28. i agree that shorter barrels are lighter and easier to manuever in tight spot but they don't seem to pattern as well as longer barrels out past thirty yards or so. as for sights i agree with jepcho tru glo makes great sights. good luck!
Old 03-08-2008, 07:42 PM
Giant Nontypical

id go with the non camo 870, the gun camo is not needed IMO, my dads killed about 40 without camo on his gun, i killed 3, until i made the switch to a 12 gauge when i was 12, it has camo.
weve never been busted because of the gun, its always motion, or noise
Old 03-08-2008, 07:59 PM
Nontypical Buck