Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

First timer

Old 03-14-2007, 02:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default First timer

This is my first time turkey hunting, and I am thinking about using my bow. I was just wondering what I will need to start out, such as calls, decoys and stuff like that! Any help would be well appreciated.
Old 03-14-2007, 02:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: First timer

If your planning on using a bow a blind is almost essential whether it be made of branches and stuff or a store bought one. you need to have something to conceal your movements. As far as calls I would recommend some sort of "push button" or "push pin" call as they are very easy to use and usually sound pretty good. practice makes perfect when it comes to calls. decoys are essential but they help take attention off you when the bird is coming in. make sure your camoflauged well too. turkeys have extremely good eyesight and hearing for that matter so you dont have to call too loud for them to hear you. try to do some preseason scouting to learn their patterns. as tempting as it may be try not to call to much. If i have one coming in hot and heavy i just shut up and let him come in. IF you have any more questions just ask! hope this helps you out good luck be safe and have FUN!
Old 03-14-2007, 02:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

sorry i meant that decoys are NOT essential in fact some states dont allow them so check your regulations.
Old 03-14-2007, 10:07 PM
Nontypical Buck

we are allowed to use them but I think I am going to use like 2 or 3. What works good for camo? I have predator spring green and brown deception. Thanks for the tips my man.
Old 03-15-2007, 03:06 AM
Giant Nontypical

Depending on your area if it's really greened up , I would try RealTree HD Green or Mossey Oak Spring Break up.
Old 03-15-2007, 03:16 AM
Typical Buck