Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Calling cadence

Old 02-10-2007, 07:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Calling cadence

Hey guys, can anyone recommend some instructional materials for better learning the proper cadence when calling. I'm new to this game, and my calls, both diaphragm and slate sound pretty good, I just need to work in the right rhythm now. Any ideas? Hunting show? CDs?

Thanks in advance!
Old 02-10-2007, 09:15 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Calling cadence

Not sure what to tell ya about CD's but there is a product on the market from Primo's called ( MTAMouth Call's Made Easy ) it comes with a instructional CD.
As for the right rhythm your looking for , hen yelps are normally in a set of three ( yelp yelp yelp ) , clucks are any where from one to five depending on how excited the hen is.
Tree yelps and fly down cackles sound like ( yelp yelp chuck chuck chuck chuckchuck chuck chuck ) with the sound of wings flapping.
Cutt's vary in cadence and rhythm , they can sound like ( peck peck peck ) or ( peck peckpeckpeck peck peck )like a barnyard chicken.
Just keep practicing and you'll know what sounds good when the boss tom gobbles back at you.
Old 02-10-2007, 11:59 PM
Typical Buck

I have found over the years that the best teacher for calling turkey's is turkeys. I go to the woods and listen to real turkeys in the past I have recorded them using a boom mic.. Listening to the real thing and the number of times they yelp is want I started with and will use this year on my son who will turn 8. If you can not get out a lot to do this go to www.hunterspec.com they have some cd's and dvd's that will help you.
Good Hunting.[8D]
Old 02-11-2007, 09:09 AM
Nontypical Buck