Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Day 18, Whoopbutt has Whipped Me!

Old 04-11-2006, 01:14 PM
Typical Buck

Default Day 18, Whoopbutt has Whipped Me!

Yesterday and today, I just sat at our deer camp and listened to this bird. He's doing his normal thing after he flys down, also, he's not gobbling as much. Anyway, this morning he was within 200 yds of the camp, which I walk the last half mile to, well he gobbled twice and flew down. I thought I'd try a little experiment to see if he would follow his pattern, which is go away from the calling. I could tell the direction he was going, which was to my right, when I called to him, he turned and went straight away from me.

I honestly admit, this one has whipped me.I've been hunting this land for 27 years, I know everyslough, flat spot, and ridge, I know where the water is,etc., so the land is not a problem for me. I've tried everything I know, and I mean everything, plus suggestions from members of this forum and another forum. Anybody got any new ideas short of nuking him.

I'm just going to sit and listen for one more day. I've already got a bird, so I just want to come up with something to take this bird if it takes the rest of our season. I keep thinking he'll mess up, but I'm the one doing the messing up. I've got til May 15th, HELP!

dog1

Old 04-11-2006, 01:47 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Day 18, Whoopbutt has Whipped Me!

Try switching to a different call. I think this bird has your call figured out as trouble! use a different call and style of calling.
Old 04-11-2006, 02:57 PM
Typical Buck

You need to read the old classic book "The Old Pro Turkey Hunter" by Gene Nunnery. It is a great read, written in an earlier time. I don't know if the stories are fact or fiction, but the author was obviously well versed in turkey hunting and the stories are probably based on his experience.