Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Shock calls don't work - never found a roosted bird

Old 03-21-2006, 07:47 PM
TDE
Spike

Default Shock calls don't work - never found a roosted bird

I've been hunting here in MN for 4 years now and I have never found a roosted turkey at sundown/night. I've tried owl, crow, and coyote calls. The only shock call that's ever worked for me is a gobbler but only during the day.

Any advice? I would very much like to set up close to a bird for once instead of guessing where they might be.
Old 03-21-2006, 07:51 PM

Default RE: Shock calls don't work - never found a roosted bird

You might try something higher pitched like a peacock or dog whistle. I don't know if it will work any better or not.

Good luck.
Old 03-21-2006, 07:54 PM
Typical Buck

I would scout before the season if at all possible get there before sundown or before daybreak and listen and observe if you see turks around flyup/flydown time note where these birds have been seen go in there and try too find there trees look for droppings and feathers around large trees. get on tops of ridges and listen i do not know why you cannot get any to shock gobble try a peacock or woodpecker
Old 03-21-2006, 08:31 PM

hmm... i just picked up an owl call tonight.. hope it works.
Old 03-21-2006, 08:45 PM
Nontypical Buck

TDE, I have had the same luck with roosting birds in the evening. Years ago, they use to gobble at anything morning or evening. One year they just quit gobbling in the evening. I thought it could have been from overcalling but i then went 3 years without trying to roost one. It didnt help a bit, they still dont gobble in the evening whewre i hunt.

I just try to spot them before they roost and then get out early in the morning.
Old 03-21-2006, 08:51 PM