Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Bad habit or not ????

Old 03-08-2005, 08:15 AM

Default Bad habit or not ????

About six years ago I started shooting with three fingers under my arrow. I went to a traditional archery show a few years back and saw G Fred Asbel. He said this was a bad habit and stressed the bottom limb of the bow. Well I haven't been able to switch back. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Old 03-08-2005, 08:28 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Bad habit or not ????

Yup, you could get a custom bow made with the correct tiller if that is a concern to you.
Old 03-09-2005, 07:03 AM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Ricky Welch is one of the best shooters in the world, and he shoots 3-under. I know several excellent shots that shoot 3-under. If it works for you, don't worry about what G. Fred or anyone else says--when one "expert" says "this is the way you have to do it", you can usually find another that will say just the opposite. I tend to listen more to the ones that say "this is what works for me" rather than "this is the way you should do it, period".

Good luck,

Chad
Old 03-09-2005, 07:08 AM

Thank you, it improved my accuracy and consistency so much I don't think I could shoot 'normal' any more.
Old 03-09-2005, 09:34 AM

In his book, "Become the Arrow," Byron Ferguson actually reccomends that beginners in traditional archery use three fingers under. "Ferguson teaches three-fingers-under to people just learning to shoot barebow. This style makes aiming down the arrow easiest and gest good results right away, which makes the new archer happy and makes the coach think he's smart" (Glenn Helgeland & Byron Ferguson, p. viii, 1994).