Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

a few newbie questions: bow storage, resources, accuracy, etc.

Old 09-27-2004, 08:41 PM

Default a few newbie questions: bow storage, resources, accuracy, etc.

Hello folks...

I'm new to archery and just bought myself a Chek-Mate TD Hunter. 60", 57#@28" (I know what you'll say about over-bowing myself... I've been working up to this for a few months...), Draw Length = 30"

Here are my queries:

1. I'm wondering what opinions exist on how to properly store the bow when not in use, specifically if there is any damage that might occur from leaving the bow strung.

2. Are there any good resources online detailing the processes for tuning your bow? I saw in another post someone mention something about string twisting, etc... I don't really know how to do this stuff...

3. At some point, I'll be wanting to hunt. Do any of you have suggestions for guidlines concerning accuracy, a level of performance that I should reach, before attempting an animal? How long did it take you to get there?

That's it for now, thanks in advance!
Old 09-28-2004, 04:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: a few newbie questions: bow storage, resources, accuracy, etc.

Welcome to archery. I've got my answers to your questions.

Don't leave your bow strung. The laminated wood limbs will weaken over time. I hang mine either vertically, by the string or horizontally, with supports spaced just longer than the riser. Do not prop it in a corner on one limb.
The Fred Asbell book on instinctive shooting has a good section on bow tuning. I'm sure there are others. With a recurve there is not much to it, but there are some rules you need to follow.