Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Thoughts on limb material

Old 12-07-2003, 01:12 PM
Fork Horn

Default Thoughts on limb material

I'm getting ready to order another bow from Chad and wanted some opinions on limb material.

I've already decided on my riser woods, but I'm trying to decide between red elm or black walnut limbs.

What are your thoughts on these limb materials??
Thanks in advance,
Dave
Old 12-07-2003, 02:11 PM

Default RE: Thoughts on limb material

I think the walnut feels a little smoother than elm but the darker woods also show any imperfections in the glass more. If you know you are going to get clear glass with no streaks walnut if you think that you might get streaky glass elm won't show it as bad. I know, no help at all good luck
Old 12-07-2003, 03:12 PM

My choice of the two would have to be the walnut. Only because I think it will have more figure and color, but I am no wood expert either. Are these the only choices you have? Do you like figure and color, or straight and plain grain? Take care......Tom
Old 12-07-2003, 04:05 PM

I like walnut over elm, but did you consider yew. Yew is one of my favorite limb woods. Smooth shooting and looks nice. My 10 year old boy has a Falcon with walnut limbs. I have a longbow with elm. Both are sweet shooters. Comes down to which you like the looks of more.

Good luck. Listen to Chad he knows what's he talking about. Well at least when it comes to bows, don't take his advice on choice of hats
Old 12-07-2003, 06:45 PM

It is my understanding that yew was their choice in building most of the longbows. My Crusader t/d has yew cores with a double taper of grey actionwood between them. It then has black glass on the back and cocobola on the belly. This is a great combination that pulls very smooth and shoots hard. Take care...............Tom
Old 12-07-2003, 07:18 PM