Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Caught Off Guard

Old 10-17-2003, 01:54 PM
sse

Default Caught Off Guard

I am a novice to bowhunting (or any hunting for that matter). The other day a decent whitetail buck pranced up to within 7 yds of my ground blind, but I was caught with my recurve hanging on the tree next to me. The deer miraculously turned away and I tried to get the bow as quietly as I could. Something twitched and the deer bounded about 10 yds away to my right. It stared at me for 5 minutes and finally walked away.

If you were caught off guard like I was, what would you do??

Thanks, sse
Old 10-17-2003, 06:02 PM

Default RE: Caught Off Guard

I limit my hunts to 3-4 hour sits.I put the bottom limb on top of my foot and rest the bow on my leg holding it with one hand.This is hunting out of a tree stand.I' ve had deer slip up on me too so I try and be on gaurd all the time on stand.If your sitting in a blind all day it' s hard to do.

CB
Old 10-17-2003, 07:30 PM
Typical Buck

What wouldn' t I do, lol. Actually, I probably would have reached for the bow and tried to get the shot. But with the animal alert and moving, that may not have been a viable option. But, I still would have tried, lol.