Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Want to get into traditional

Old 04-24-2003, 10:09 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default Want to get into traditional

Hey fellas. This is my first time on the traditional board. I am really thinking about getting into the traditional side of archery. I was wondering what your reccomendations would be for a first timer bow. I don' t want to pour too much money into it at first until I know that it' s for me. Also what pound bow would you guys reccomend. I am 6' 2" , 250#, pulling a 70 - 80# compound is no problem and I have a 30" draw. Any other tips and advise is appreciated. And yes I will seek out the instructions of a traditional pro shop in my area. Just wanted to get your opinions also.

Thanks,
Kerry
Old 04-24-2003, 10:18 PM

Default RE: Want to get into traditional

Go to a traditional shoot. You' ll be hooked on traditional. Folks will let you shoot their bows. See what you like. Buy a cheap 45-50lb used bow ($75 or so). Check eBay. Play with it for a while, go to some more shoots, then you' ll know what feels right for you. Then you might want to get a more expensive bow...

However, don' t get overbowed!!!! 50lbs will kill any deer with NO problem... and is much more fun to shoot than 60lbs!!

I shot 80lbs for a while with wheels (Many years ago!!).... I' m wiser now... I killed my deer this past season pulling about 44lbs from a 35 year old recurve.

chad
Old 04-25-2003, 07:28 AM
Giant Nontypical

I agree. Someone that has enough stuffin' s to draw 80 pounds on a compound should be able to get by with something in the 50 pound class for a first stickbow. Even so, it' s FAR better to start out too light in draw weight than it is to try starting out too heavy. It' s more important when starting out to get your form and technique down pat than it is to get raw power into the arrows. And, like GarMan said, 50 pounds is more than enough for deer.