Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Define stacking please

Old 03-19-2003, 01:48 PM
mez
Nontypical Buck

Default Define stacking please

I am new to the traditional thing and I see a lot of references made to bow stacking. Could someone define this for me. I did a search on the thread and that was unrewarding. Thanks.
Old 03-19-2003, 01:56 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Define stacking please

A traditional bow will gain a certain amount of poundage per inch of draw--2-3# per inch is very smooth--up to a certain point. When you reach the point where the bow starts to jump up in pounds--for example, going from 2-3# per inch to 5 or more--this is when it starts stacking.

Hope that makes sense.

Chad
Old 03-19-2003, 02:07 PM
Giant Nontypical

Lets see if I can start to explain,

During the draw of a traditional bow, as the draw length of a bow is increasing as you are pulling the string back, the draw weight is increasing. At some point the weight will begin to increase very rapidly and the limbs will begin to straighten out and will not work linear anymore. This is called stacking. If your actual draw length is beyond the limits of the bow, you will probably experience this. For example, I have an old Bear recurve and it is measured at 45# at 28" . I have a 31.5 inch draw however. At full draw on this bow I am actually pulling 58#. I experince stacking on the bow at about 29 inches. After 29 inches, I actually feel like the bow will go no further, because of the rapid increase in draw weight. BTW, I don' t shoot this bow much.

Usually a bow performs at its best just before this point of stacking.

Old 03-19-2003, 03:07 PM
mez
Nontypical Buck