Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

tuning my recurve??

Old 08-30-2008, 07:39 PM
Spike

Default tuning my recurve??

Hello. I am somewhat new to traditional shooting and have a couple of seemingly basic questions.What,if any, adjustments can be madeto a recurveas far as tuning goes? The reason I'mwondering aboutthis is that when my cedar arrows, w/ 125 gr points hit the target, they're always tail-right. So my thought is that the arrows are too stiff, but if there's a way to make 'em shoot I'll keep 'em. Otherwise, I think I might end up buying a weaker spined arrow and/orshooting a heavier point. Right?

Old 08-30-2008, 07:58 PM
Spike

Default RE: tuning my recurve??

Hey, a little more info might help you guys in helping me...the recurve is an old Bear Stag Hunter and as far as poundage goes, it says 50/55# on it...wouldn't it be one or the other? Anyway,my draw length is29" and my cedar arrows are somewhere between 31"-32" with 125gr. points. It could easily be a form issure too, right? Thanks a bunch.

Old 08-31-2008, 07:19 AM
Giant Nontypical

There are three main things to tuning a recurve. First, start off with correctly spined arrows. After that, it's brace height and nock point. Adjust the nock point to eliminate porpoising. Raise brace height to eliminate fishtailing. You want brace height to be as low as you can get it while also getting a quiet shot and good arrow flight. I like Fred Asbell's method: Lower your brace height untill you start getting noise and bad arrow flight, then start raising it up until the noise goes away and your arrows fly straight.

You can also experiment with building out or thinning down the strike plate, but that's usually not necessary.