Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

longbows

Old 05-19-2008, 01:02 PM

Default longbows

I recently started shooting a recurve bow, now im thinking of trying a longbow (Bear Montana), does anyone know anything about longbows that could help me with my decision as to wether to try it or not?
Old 05-19-2008, 01:57 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: longbows

Hello johnnier,

I'm new to longbows myself, but after years of shooting recurves, shooting a longbow isn't that much different.

It sounds like you have some experience in instinctive shooting, so you will pick it up quickly. Definitely give it a try. I doubt that you'll regret it.

There's just something about drawing back that long-stick and watching those cedar shafts 'plunk' into the target... hard to explain, feels like I'm at Agincourt or Sherwood Forest orsomething.

Traditional archery at its finest IMHO!

Let us know how you like it...

BP
Old 06-10-2008, 08:41 PM
Typical Buck

i've been shooting a 25# longbow just to test the trad-bow world and i really like it.
Old 06-11-2008, 06:45 AM
bigcountry

First thing people notice is the general difference in grips. Second they notice how sweet it is to pull a longbow.

I shoot both and love different things about both. Good thing about a recurve is you can generally shoot 4" shorter bow due to the string angle will not be severe. I shoot a straight grip longbow now, and its tough, but I am kinda used to all of them now.

Old 06-11-2008, 09:09 AM
Nontypical Buck

I'm Like bigcountry. I shoot both. I don't see a huge difference between them. At least no bigger than from one bow to another i.e. one recurve to another recurve.

the grip is the biggest thing. If your used to a deep recurve grip the Bear Montana will seem a bit straight for you at first. But I think you'll get used to it. Just take your time and have fun.

BTW if you don't watch out you'll end up making and shooting selfbows like me. Its addictive.

Old 06-11-2008, 09:39 AM
Giant Nontypical