Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

String Care

Old 03-17-2005, 01:43 PM
Fork Horn

Default String Care

Well here come my questions.. I am new to bow hunting and am limited as to my friends helping me as they still live in the city and come down here once a month for a weekend or soo.. I will be posting and sucking as much knowledge up as possible...lol

1)I was wondering how offten should i wax em'??

2)Can I tell if they need attention before they show massive wear??

3)What is the best way to care for them??
Old 03-17-2005, 01:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: String Care

There is nothing better for a good string than a good silicon based wax. When can you tell if it needs waxed? When you start seeing some fuzzies is one good sign. Another is that if you rub it with your fingers and it feels dry. How often? It's up to you. You can't overdo it. And it depends on how well you take care of equipment.

I shoot every day, but always case my bow when not in use. I probably wax my string only a few times a year. And I replace it every year. The cable should be replaced every three years, but a rarely have a bow that long. In fact, about 1 1/2 years is the average.
Old 03-17-2005, 01:54 PM
Fork Horn

your string should be waxed at least a couple times a year.when you do this put the wax on the string and cable and then take your fingers and rub them really fast on the string and cable to generate heat this will melt the wax into the strands.
Old 03-18-2005, 11:14 PM

I agree with BGfisher, I watch for the fuzzies to start forming, then I wax. Although sometimes I don't wait that long.
Old 03-19-2005, 03:27 AM
Giant Nontypical

In my own personal tinkering I've found that waxing my string has an affect on how my bow shoots and it wasn't good. I don't wax. When the string shows wear I start thinking of replaceing it.
Old 03-19-2005, 05:51 AM