Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Muzzy troubles

Old 09-10-2002, 07:41 PM

Default Muzzy troubles

I know what you guys are thinking, it can't be! And I'm sure it's not, I just need help. I shoot a Hoyt Mt Sport (not the problem, I love it) at 66 lbs, 244 fps, PSE Dominator 300's at 28 1/2 inches long.

I've been shooting feildpoints all spring and summer and have this thing shooting perfect, good arrow flight everytime, shoots thru paper very well. The problem is when I started shooting Muzzy 100's a couple weeks ago they were mostly shooting low by about 4-5 inches at 20 yards and some of them to the left 3-4 inches. I have about a dozen and a half arrows and I think I tried all combinations of broadhead and arrow. I have gotten to the point of finding 5 that all shoot low, and do this consistantly. I know I can adjust my sight and be right back in the ballpark, but it drives me crazy that I need to do that. Does anyone have any other suggestions

Going on my first elk hunt in 9 days 6 hours and 43 minutes.......
Old 09-10-2002, 07:58 PM

Default RE: Muzzy troubles

Bones,
I heard a guy talking at the local shop about just that very same dilemma.
The honco at the shop suggested changing just the TIP out on the Muzzy and that has worked well for him in the past.
Hope this helps and good luck this season!
Old 09-10-2002, 10:34 PM

For the highs/lows adjust your nocking point in very small increments
up/down until you get the nocking point setup right, as for the rights/lefts move your rest in/out in very small increments until you find the right setting for you rest. This might take a little time to do, but the results will be worth it. Remember to just move the rest, and nocking point a very small amount, 1/16 to 1/8of an inch, at a time. Hope this helps. Be safe.
Shoot Straight
Derbytown

Old 09-11-2002, 04:10 AM
Nontypical Buck