Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

carbons stuck in target

Old 09-04-2002, 11:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default carbons stuck in target

I've been shooting a bow for 22 years, but I'm relatively new to using carbons.
I've got a nice PSE compound set at about 55lbs.
Got it tuned pretty good and can keep good groups, but the carbon arrows seem to be much harder to pull out of foam targets like 3-D deer than my old aluminums used to be. I mean like having to use a wrench and a foot on most arrows.

Anybody else notice this?
Is there a brand or type of carbon that doesn't have this property?
If I can't find a way to make arrow retrieval less of a pain, I'll probably go back to aluminums.

Keep 'em all in the Bull.
Old 09-04-2002, 11:48 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: carbons stuck in target

Goes with the terrain. YUP, they're a bear to pull out of the foam targets. People do a couple things that help. First, buy a good quality arrow puller. You know, one of those grippers. Get one of the fat ones that you can get ahold of. Second... you can buy some commercial arrow lube. It comes in these little tubes with a slit cut in the top. Every couple shots run the arrow in the lube a couple times. Others just use a bar of soap. It makes it easier to get out. What happens is the friction caused by the arrows actually heats up and fuses the target foam to the arrow. You'll notice it stuck on the arrows and you'll have to scrape it off with your finger nails.

Old 09-04-2002, 01:03 PM