Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

nock point for finger shooting.

Old 12-30-2004, 07:05 AM

Default nock point for finger shooting.

I'm new to archery and need help setting my nock point for finger shooting. I've been told to have everything square, and the nock point will be high from center. This might sound kind of dumb, but I don't know what high from center means nor how to achieve it, (where is center?) or how to square the bow etc. I shoot a short bow 30 inch A/A. Its set for a release now because I'm told that I wont be able to shoot with fingers with a 30 inch bow, however, when I fool around without the release, I shoot OK without it. Did I mention that I hate a release. Anyway, can anybody give me some tipson how to set my bow for shooting three fingers under.
Old 12-30-2004, 07:42 AM

Default RE: nock point for finger shooting.

First off, welcome to the board.

Did I mention that I hate a release.
ah, you would make arthurp proud. (dig through the archives and look at some of his posts, then you'll get the joke )

i recently gave up the release (for all the obvious reasons) and started shooting with fingers this past season. man, did i feel free! a 30" ata is pretty short for fingers. that said, my current bow is a 34.5" ata (i didn't want to purchase a new bow for fingers) and i had a lot of people tell me the same thing, "its just too short to shoot with fingers." and maybe it is, but i shoot pretty good groups with it out to 35yds pretty comfortably. (of course i practiced A LOT.) however, for my next bow purchase i will buy a bow that is 40"+ ata.