Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Thinking about a new bow

Old 11-25-2004, 10:25 AM

Default Thinking about a new bow

I bought a Darton Mustang bow back in 1994 when I graduated and it is a good bow, I bought it from a little shop back in WV and they did all the work on it, never no problems. Well I joined the military in 1996 and most of the time haven't been anywhere I could hunt. Now I am stationed in MO and am going to get back into it all. Should I just try to start new or try to find a shop that will work on mine and get it set up again. I have been looking at some of the prices online and bows have gotten outrageous, and I know I will pay more at a pro shop, but I get their service on it. I am in the military so I'm not rich and I saw I think a bowtech bow that was over a 1000.00 dollars!! I would just like some more opinions on this. I really don't want to spend more money on the one that I got then next year, say I have to go buy a new one, but then again I don't want to buy a new one, then say I could have got by with the old Darton. I have got one deer with the Darton right before I went to basic training. Thanks
Old 11-25-2004, 10:30 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Thinking about a new bow

Yes you can get by w/ your old Darton... but I also understand the desire to get something new... I'm sure we all do.

Your bow is prolly gonna need at the very least new strings/cables.. lube job.. ect..

You might want to check out some of the used bows on this forum and over on Archerytalk.com .. you can pick up a bow that's a year or 2 old for alot less than new. Also do your research on the new accessories.. and pick them accordingly.
Old 11-25-2004, 10:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

Used is a great way to get a top of the line bow at mid line prices.