Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Single cam vs. Dual Cam

Old 10-31-2004, 11:33 AM

Default Single cam vs. Dual Cam

Even though I'm new to bowhunting, I've already seen and heard that single cam bows are better than dual cams. I've also noticed that single cams are priced highter. Is there any validity to the suggestion that singles are better than dual cams? Also, if you had to choose one style, which one would you choose and why?
Old 10-31-2004, 11:52 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Single cam vs. Dual Cam

I wouldn't say that single cams are necessarily better than a dual cam. Both have their advantages. Personally I chose a single cam. In my opinion they are smoother to draw, quieter and easier to tune.
Old 10-31-2004, 07:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

Anybody like me that has been around archery for over 30 years knows that dual cam is a better concept than single cam. You'll most likely hear otherwise, but then how many of those guys can say they have shot bows with round wheels, steel cables and dacron strings, 20% letoff, laminated limbs. And then made the transition to machined risers, solid glass limbs, single cam. 88% letoff. Well, I have, and this year, after shooting single cams for 7 years I found my way back to dual cam again. It has many advantages. Usually faster, easier to draw, level nock travel, and the string doesn't angle across the bow going from cam to cam.
Single cam is a good concept. Don't get me wrong, but there are issues such as cam-lean that manufacturers need to address. Some bows much worse than others. One place to read about this is at Spot-hogg's website under the letter section.