Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Is this right? feathers hitting cable.

Old 09-15-2004, 01:32 PM

Default Is this right? feathers hitting cable.

Hello,
I have a Jennings Buckmaster and when i pull back my feathers rub on my cables. I don't know if ist supposed to do that or not but its ruining my feathers. Thanks for any help.
Old 09-15-2004, 01:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Is this right? feathers hitting cable.

Probably shouldn't have that situation.

Is your cable guard adjusted to give you max clearance? If not adjust it so the cables just clear the fletch. If you can't gain clearance, maybe tune your arrows/nocks, if possible to still have clearance at your rest.
Old 09-15-2004, 01:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

If you have the swing arm cable guard, good luck. Until you address the contact, you can't hope to tell if the bow is tuned or not...
Old 09-15-2004, 02:08 PM

Yes I do have the swingarm cable guard. What can i do to fix the problem?
thanks
Old 09-15-2004, 03:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Just ran into this problem today and it may be your's too. Make sure the bolt holding the swing arm is tight. A guy came into the shop today complaining about his cables being too far left at full draw. His problem was a loose bolt holding the cable guard.
Old 09-15-2004, 03:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: BGfisher

Just ran into this problem today and it may be your's too. Make sure the bolt holding the swing arm is tight. A guy came into the shop today complaining about his cables being too far left at full draw. His problem was a loose bolt holding the cable guard.
Yep that is common, and the firs t3 or 4 years they were building bows w/ the swing-arm, they were just plain machined without enough clearance. I had that prob on my Speedstar XLR, and my original BuckMaster. My Epic was good for clearance. The newer swing-arms are much better.