Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

I reckon your bow is quiet enough when...

Old 07-06-2004, 12:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default I reckon your bow is quiet enough when...

I went out to shoot a bit Saturday evening off my deck, and when I walked out staring me in the face about 5 yards away was on of the three young bucks that have been hanging around my yard for the past several weeks (2 spikes, and one bigger one that is starting to fork)

So I said “Hello”

He turned around and made a half-hearted attempt to jump and ended up meandering back to the edge of my yard about 10 yards distant from the deck, promptly lowered his head, and started eating again.

My “lane” is parallel to the edge of my yard where he was, so I just started shooting, and figured he’d take off once I did (they often feed about 10-20 yards in the woods behind my house while I’m shooting but usually don’t come in the yard).

Now keep in mind this is the same buck last winter (as a 6 month old fawn) who bedded down directly behind my Morrell bag target to shield himself from the wind/snow and decided not to get up and run until I shot my SECOND arrow into the bag…and then he just kinda trotted away a couple of yards and looked at me. I had no idea he was behind it when I shot the first time as it was early morning and foggy and I just wanted to get in a couple arrows before work. Good thing for him I wasn’t shooting at the part of the target that was worn out