Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

sights

Old 06-18-2004, 05:49 PM
Fork Horn

Default sights

Hey guys been looking around at your posts and I see a few using only one sight pin. Im still a newbie (havent bow hunted in years and just getting back into it). Just wondering how you shoot like that... is the bow just that fast that you can shoot out to 30 yards and still be dead on or are you aiming a little high on further shots and a little lower on closer ones? Also how do these single pin slide sights work?

thanks for the info

Vince
Old 06-18-2004, 06:21 PM

Default RE: sights

they're all slides, at least the ones i've heard talked about on here. the sight aperture is attached to a bracket that has a sliding mechanism. the sight aperture slides up and down after you loosen 1 or 2 knobs. there is also a needle on the bracket that slides with it over a flat curved piece of metal. you put tape on the metal and put a little mark where your 20 yd mark is. then slide it until the sight is right for 30 and put a mark there and so on. hard to explain - go check one out. i prefer them.
Old 06-18-2004, 06:32 PM
Fork Horn

How would a single pin slide be better then just having 3 pins? i would think that it is easier to just look at the first or second pin rather then having to turn a knob line up the needle with the mark and tighten it down before the deer moves... with my luck by the time is set it for 20 yards i will look up and the deer will be 30 yards away.
Just trying to figure out the best sights for my setup.

Thanks for the info

Vince
Old 06-18-2004, 07:10 PM
Giant Nontypical