Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Cable Broke At Full Draw

Old 05-20-2004, 11:03 PM

Default Cable Broke At Full Draw

Hi, I'm new to archery, thought I would save some money and got a used High Country. Had it about 3 weeks and noticed a little bit of loose string on the cable. No problem, I put a lil dab of super-glue on there and kept shooting. Today while shooting, that sucker blew up on me! I was holding at full draw while my wife was talking to me from the window and KAPOW! I wound up with a big bruise on my left hand, and had to go find all the loose pieces scattered all over my back yard. I recovered everyting but the cable-guard which was split in half (only found one half). I guess my question is, do I have to replace my cable only or the string too? The string seems to be pretty much intact, but there are a FEW little frayed spots on it. I'm gonna have it done at a pro-shop in a few days. Just thought I would get some opinions from you kind folks. Thanks, Robert
Old 05-20-2004, 11:34 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Cable Broke At Full Draw

You better have it checked out by an expert before you have a string and cable made for it because you very well may need to replace the limbs or the entire bow. If that thing blew up like you described you probably got a lot bigger problems than a broken cable.

If everything checks out then replace both the string and cable. I always replace them as a set.
Old 05-20-2004, 11:35 PM

Ouch! Bet that got your attention[:@] You should take your bow to a pro shop that can find out the lengths of the string and cable and replace both at the same time. If he's a good bow mechanic, he'll check ATA and brace and peak weight while setting the proper cam rotation. You'll be good to go then
Old 05-21-2004, 05:08 AM
Boone & Crockett