Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Totally new to sport. Need advice of any kind.

Old 04-19-2004, 08:12 PM

Default Totally new to sport. Need advice of any kind.

[&o]Hey. I just started bowhunting last fall and I'm hooked. I love it. Recently relocated from Oklahoma to South Texas and found a good bow shop and archery club. I have so many questions I don't know where to start. I am wondering if I can use this bow for both target shooting and hunting or if I am going to have to get two different set ups. Also, how does a person go about getting somewhere to hunt in a new area. Again, I am just getting started and would appreciate any advice I can get.
Old 04-19-2004, 08:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Totally new to sport. Need advice of any kind.

First off ,welcome to the board ratherbebowhunting,this is a fine place and alot of good info is available.And welcome to the wonderful world of bowhunting.The current setup you have now will be fine for bow hunting and target shooting.Actually the best to practice with is your hunting bow because you will know it in side out when the time comes for a shot at the trophy buck.Play with your bow and really get to know it at the target range and dont be afraid to ask anyone at the pro-shop questions and help on learning the fundamentals of archery.Don't forget also to sight it in with broadheads before the season starts.
I find the best way to get permission to hunt new land is to dress respectivly and ask a few land owners very politely for permission,offer to lend them a helping hand when the time is needed .Tell him you will respect his land as it was your own and 9 times out of 10 you will get the go ahead.
Old 04-19-2004, 09:07 PM
Nontypical Buck