Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Question about gripping a bow?

Old 03-03-2004, 03:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Question about gripping a bow?

I asked a question about this a long time ago but I am still debating what to do. I just started shooting again this year now that the snow is almost gone and I am debating on which way I should grip my bow. I always just shot with a closed hand and didn't have any noticable problems. Once I got more into shooting I wanted to lessen my chance of torque so I started shooting with my pointer and thumb touching and everything else sticking out. Well one time I shot and my fingers came apart and my bow went falling to the gravel. So now I have been shotting with all my fingers lightly resting on my riser but when I shoot my hand tightens. Does anybody have any suggestions. Thanks-Sam
Old 03-03-2004, 03:31 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Question about gripping a bow?

That's what a bow sling is for. Any archery shop should carry them.

It goes around the top of your wrist so you can shoot with an open hand and not have to worry about the bow falling out of your grip when the shot goes off.

Gripping the handle generally involves muscles being exerted and some forces are applied on the side of the riser grip. Forces on the side of the grip during the shot are not a good thing to promote accuracy.
Old 03-03-2004, 03:37 PM
Giant Nontypical

What Black Frog said.

A relaxed and loose grip is the proper way to hold a bow and will cut down on the torque.
Old 03-03-2004, 03:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

Do you ever have a problem anticipating the shot and closing your hand or do you just close it right after the shot? Also do you have problems getting your hand through that sling with big gloves?
Old 03-03-2004, 04:11 PM
Giant Nontypical