Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Question about sights...problems?

Old 01-27-2004, 07:50 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Question about sights...problems?

After reading the many threads on sights lately, and especially the one from IL_BOW_MAN about breaking his pins and wanting suggestions on new sights....it got me wondering.

How many of you have ever actually had a problem with your sights? I've been bowhunting for almost 20 years and NEVER had a single problem with any sight I've ever used. Never had one break, or even had a pin loosen up. I've drug them around the woods, through thick and thin, fell down on my bow, etc. Also, I've never had what most would consider to be a "good" sight. I just use basic (inexpensive) fiber optic sights. Probably in the $30-40 range.

I know there are some super nice sights available these days. (spot hogg, copper john, trophy ridge, etc) I'm not knocking these, just curious if all the hype and marketing that surrounds these newer (and really expensive) sights, is in reality unfounded. ???

I'm not trying to start a fight, or put down anyone that owns any of these....they are great sights for sure. I'm just curious if the super strong, or the 3ft of fiber optic (etc.. you know what I mean), is really something that folks feel is needed, and worth the money...or more just hype, and the "in" thing to have?? Personally for me (so far) I haven't actually seen the need for this. I've never broken anything, and my pins show up early and late enough that I would ever consider taking a shot.

Maybe I've just been lucky? What do you think?

Thanks Mike

*I edited it to say that I forgot to mention that I'm talking about a basic hunting set up. I'm sure the guy that shoots 50,000 shots a year is gonna have different results than the avg bowhunter who shoots a few thousand shots each year.
Old 01-27-2004, 10:39 AM