Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Drop aways with cord, opinions

Old 01-14-2004, 08:13 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Drop aways with cord, opinions

I'm in the market to tinker a little with some drop aways. I kinda ought to wait till after the ATA show to see what new toys are out, but I've been kicking the TR drop zone idea around and I really like the idea. The thing that scares me most is the cord. I have been using a NAP QT4000 for about two years and never had any problems. It uses a steel cable.

My question is this. How reliable is the cord? Does it get caught up in brush easily? Does it stretch or become loose after a while?

These are the things I'm kind of worried about for a hunting setup. I want something reliable and something I do not have to think twice about all season.
Old 01-14-2004, 09:02 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Drop aways with cord, opinions

I can only give you feedback on the Trophy Taker, as I've
got them on both of my bows. My biggest concern when
I first put them on was the durability of the cord. The last
thing I wanted was trouble with my bow during a hunting
trip. I have not had one problem and can say it is much
more durable than it appears.
Old 01-14-2004, 09:35 PM
Boone & Crockett

Stick with the QT 4000, Do you really feel the need to waste a hundred+ bucks on a rest that will do absolutly nothing better than the one you have? IMO the QT 4000 is a much better designed, more reliable, and a better quality rest than the drop zone.

There have been reports of the string coming loose from the inside of the drop zone. IMO the string is just as effective as the steel cable. Just not on this particular rest.
Old 01-14-2004, 09:49 PM
Giant Nontypical