Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Iraq ruined my hunting season!

Old 12-01-2003, 06:52 AM

Default Iraq ruined my hunting season!

I am a bowhunter who is currently missing season #2 in a row thanks to my job. I am a soldier currently in Iraq with the 4th infantry division, in support of operation Iraqi Freedom. I can' t wait to get home and shoot the newest (and best?) bows on the market. Among the ones I have been hearing so much about thanks to magazines and brothers who hunt are:
Bowtech Black Knight Pro, Extreme VFT, and Patriot
Hoyt Razor Tec
Matthews LX
PSE Firestorm Lite

I was wondering if any of you out there have shot any of these bows and could sling me some advice on which of them are better.

I' ve heard the RazorTec has a problem with the cams not being in sync. (which I' ve often wondered if it' s supposed to be like that, thus calling it the cam 1/2 when it' s actually a 2 cam bow-isn' t it?) But, the reports and reviews say that it' s the smoothest, most accurate bow on the market, and they claim it won eight out of it' s first nine IBO tournaments. Is there any truth to this?

I' ve also heard from a friend who was able to take mid-tour leave that the BowTech Black Knight Pro came off the shelf shooting 296 fps at 29" and 60#...amazing, but then again, do any of you think otherwise?

Matthews has always made a good product, just wondering if their " new technology" is actually just the legacy or Q2 with a bolder look.

PSE...never shot one, but the reviews seem to be first class in BowHunter magazine.

Thanks for your advice!

Jason Hyde
Old 12-01-2003, 07:11 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Iraq ruined my hunting season!

Jason,