Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

String loop stretch

Old 08-23-2003, 08:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default String loop stretch

A few weeks ago, I decided to have a new string loop installed because the one I had (only a few months old) had stretched too much. My draw length is already fairly short and I figured I could increase it by 1/2" (the next slot) if I shortened the loop significantly since it' s stretching was responsible for 1/4" of the drawlength (I just started shooting a release this spring).

The guy at the shop put a new one on and had it set where the release was just able to clip on the string when an arrow was nocked. Full draw felt essentially the same. The problem occurred after I brought it home and shot it a few dozen times--it' s now even longer than the one I replaced! [:@]

It' s on there pretty tight. Is there a way to untie one side, cut a little bit off, burn the end, and then retie it myself having never done it myself? Or is there a string loop material that won' t stretch like this to start with?
Old 08-23-2003, 10:00 AM

Default RE: String loop stretch

PSE loop material is really good. I wish we had that back up at the store. Now we have that camo braided stuff and it stretches big time. You have to tie one side, lay the excess flat along the string, then tie your other not, then get pliers and stretch it and it comes out about even. This stuff stretches big time though. Your probably going to have to get new material to give yourself enough rope to work with, otherwise your going to really frustrated. Dont try the super loop, theres a pain in the @$$. Go get new material, tie on another loop really really small, then stretch it with pliers and youll be good to go.
Old 08-23-2003, 04:13 PM
BTM
Fork Horn