Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

HELP: I am switching to a compound this year

Old 01-28-2002, 08:27 PM

Default HELP: I am switching to a compound this year

I have been hunting with a crossbow for a few years and just picked up compound. It was such a good deal - it was almost free. I got a Jennings Rackmaster quad with a 30 inch, #70 draw. It came with a chuck adams rest, fibre optic sights, peep, quiver. I need to buy a release (haven't decided which kind), stabilizer and arrows.
Does anyone shoot one of these bows, or have any advice for me? I figure I'll just buy the best release I can get, but other than that, I need some help. I am not concerned with maximum speed, I would prefer a heavy, steady arrow...I currently use thunderhead 125s on my 2117(Easton xx75) bolts. If possible, I would like to use the same weight heads/tips. Should I go with carbon or aluminum? What arrow length and what vane length? I can go to a pro shop once I have an idea what I want/need. I also would like to drop the draw weight in the off-season. Is there an easy way to do this? Do I need another module or can I just turn it down? Any help would be appreciated. Anyone?

Edited by - Canadianstalker on 01/28/2002 22:16:04

Edited by - Canadianstalker on 01/28/2002 22:35:32
Old 01-29-2002, 06:11 AM

Default RE: HELP: I am switching to a compound this year

Canada,