Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

" MOA" of sight pins...

Old 07-22-2003, 03:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default " MOA" of sight pins...

I have a red dot sight on my shotgun. It has a 4 MOA dot, meaning when centered on a target 100 yards away, it appears to cover a 4" circle on the target.

Anyone know how much area of a target 30 yards away a .03 sight pin viewed 30" from your eye would appear to cover?
Old 07-23-2003, 08:09 AM

Default RE: " MOA" of sight pins...

I don' t know how practical this is, but I just turned this into a basic math problem. As an engineer, I always have to draw out a diagram to help figure these things out. So on the left side of the diagram we have a single point (the eye). 30" to the right there is an obstruction (pin) of .03" . We' ll assume you' re shooting horizontal to the ground to simplify things. Since you' re pin is centered perfectly we' ll draw half of the obstruction above the horizontal line and half below. Now you have a triangle shown from the eye to the top of the pin, down to the horizontal line, and back to the eye. Now, since you can' t see through the pin, we' ll extend that sloping line from the eye to the top of the pin, to the target 1018" (30 yards) away.

Basically, it works out to a simple geometry problem. According to this method, a .03 pin, held 30" from your eye, will cover an area of 1.1" at 30 yards.
Old 07-23-2003, 08:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

I thought that' d be how you' d do it, but had no idea of the math involved

Only question still remaining is is the .03 inches or some other measurement? Is a " large" sight pin of .03 really only 3/100 of an inch? Seems pretty small...
Old 07-23-2003, 08:32 AM
Giant Nontypical