Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Help before I throw my rest through the wall

Old 04-16-2003, 02:52 PM
Dominant Buck

Default Help before I throw my rest through the wall

I have shot with shoot around rests on my hunting bows up until recently. I have recently put on a shoot through, bow doodle to be exact, when I swiched over to carbon arrows. I have been trying to paper tune, and have bare shaft tuned for over a week. Every time I get it to where I feel it is tuned I end up getting a fish tell. I can not get more than two arrows at a time to fly with out a fish tell. I have been shooting for over 15 years and am beside my self. Any advice? Should I go with another rest? Help please.

I am new to carbon shafts, I have the right spine for my weight. Is there something to carbon shafts I should know? Im treating them like aluminum when I tune.
Old 04-16-2003, 03:01 PM

Default RE: Help before I throw my rest through the wall

Ahh...a fellow struggler.

I bought the bodoodle zapper 300 and have had some trouble with it. I am getting a low tear that i cant shake. Everyone has told me to move my nock up. I even called bodoodle and spoke with one of their staff and he told me to start over with my nock 1/4" high and work down. He also said that I should tiller tune and will probably end up with the lower tiller 1/4-1/2 turn ahead of the top.
He also suggested paper tuning with the paper right at the bow, not 6' away as I was doing. He said this shows spine more than anything. He said by having the paper right on the bow it will show what the rest is doing.
Last, he told me that with carbons they tend to be under spined, and I should consider going heavier than what the charts say.
Hope this helps.
Old 04-16-2003, 03:12 PM
Dominant Buck